Is it possible to just authorize trial versions? Or do we have to download a 'purchased version'?

If you have a trial version of live 9 already installed and then went on to buy it (download version), do we need to download a 'purchased version' and reinstall a purchased version again?

Also if would we have to download all the packs again? Or can we just reinstall the files that were previously downloaded from when using the trial version. 

14 followers

Sister2Sister 1 year ago | 0 comments

4 answers

  • Near Earth Object
    contribution
    818 answers
    831 votes received
    3 votes

    Even if you buy the 'download' version, you still receive an activating code, right? (Have a look at your Live account)
    All you have to do is open the trial version and activate it.
    All the packs and presets that come with the full version are already on your computer.

    1 year ago | 0 comments
  • [daw]
    contribution
    202 answers
    242 votes received
    1 vote

    When you purchase a license for Live, you need to download the installer from your account page, authorizing the trial version is not possible anymore since Live 9. 

    While this seems like a step backwards, it is actually more consistent now, since every version of Live comes with its dedicated installer. 

    Back with Live 8, it was only the authorization, that defined the version of Live you are using, but this lead to a lot of confusion about the content that got installed, so we tried to make things more consistent with Live 9. 

    Hope this helps, 

    daw

    1 year ago | 1 comment
  • fiverevolutions
    contribution
    3 answers
    4 votes received
    1 vote

    I have a similar question: HOW do you authorize the trial version? Every authorization doc says to start app to authorize. But you can't close the app or you'll lose the song you made during the trial. 

    Going from trial -> make a song that you can't save -> purchase license so that you can save songs is the core sales funnel. Why is it so hard to add the purchase license # to save the created song? And why is there no info online about this?

    I must be missing something? Thanks.
     

    1 month ago | 0 comments
  • fiverevolutions
    contribution
    3 answers
    4 votes received
    1 vote

    Ha. My comment above looks dumb as I didn't fully take in DAW's answer.

    So to restate the question in light of DAW's response: 

    So we (unexpectedly) can't authorize the existing (trial) version of Live 9 we already downloaded. Odd, but OK.

    But how do you save the "you can't save this project" that was created in the trial, now that I purchased a license? The expectation from any modern software is that after purchase, I can now save & export that project, right?

    Nothing online seems to talk about this even though it seems like it is the core sales funnel that Ableton designed for folks to go through. #NotFun

    1 month ago | 0 comments

You need to be logged in, have a Live license, and have a username set in your account to be able to answer questions.

Answers is a new product and we'd like to hear your wishes, problems or ideas.