Is deleting unused freeze files a safe way for making space without losing any audio?

Quick version of the question:
is there any reason the unused freeze files in one project would be in-use in another project?


Explanation:
I need to clear some space on my hard drive, and I'd like to delete some of the audio files I have in the "samples" folder of an ableton project. I have decided to delete the unused freeze files in one project, as there are 10gb worth (!)

Ableton warns me that the files may be in use by other projects. But I think it's very unlikely that those files are used by other projects because a freeze file is created when a track is frozen, then marked as "unused" when the track is unfrozen. I have never manually imported a freeze track into another ableton project. So I should be able to delete them without any trouble... right?

2 followers

joshrrr 4 months ago | 0 comments

1 answer

  • vikingnoise
    contribution
    6 answers
    7 votes received
    1 vote

    I believe Live warns you of the possibility because it doesn't necessarily track cross-project assets.  If you know a frozen or consolidated sample isn't being used in any of your projects then you can delete it without affecting any project.

    I personally prefer to back things up rather than delete them entirely.  Sometimes you get a perfect little gem hidden in a pile of otherwise junk samples.  That's just me, though.  If space is more important to you right now, start making space.

    4 months ago | 0 comments

You need to be logged in, have a Live license, and have a username set in your account to be able to answer questions.

Answers is a new product and we'd like to hear your wishes, problems or ideas.