How to disable copying files

I DJ some with Ableton Live, and I store all the songs in my iTunes library. Unfortunately, Live copies all of these songs over to /Live Library/Samples/Imported — which just ends up wasting a lot of disk space, having duplicates of the songs. Is there any way to just use the files in the iTunes library without copying them?

4 followers

thecampbell 2 years ago | 0 comments

3 answers

  • kanuck
    contribution
    1 answer
    3 votes received
    3 votes

    what format are the songs that you're importing?  Live can only work with .wav and .aiff files.  if you're songs are in any format then Live will create a duplicate version in either .wav or .aiff

    2 years ago | 0 comments
  • Acid303
    contribution
    10 answers
    12 votes received
    1 vote

    This is an incredible pain in the arse. Live should support all popular file formats including m4a and flac. The browser should also support tags but that's another story

    1 year ago | 0 comments
  • Carlosnik
    contribution
    59 answers
    66 votes received
    0 votes

    If you load any track, from any Folder in your system, then you can Save the Project without collecting the files, at least the songs from the native folder.

    I do not know why you are getting the files from your iTunes folder into the library into Live.

    When you save, do you Collect all and Save?

    Are you using a New Folder for your current Project?

     

    Here is a few steps I usually do when I work with a New Project.

    1. - Open a Blank Template in Live

    2. - Work around with the Track Names - FX - Returns - Master and everything else regarding the Mask / Template Organization

    3. - File - Save as...

    4. - Create a New Folder or simply choose a destination into your system where the Project should be saved on.

    5. - I import all my samples, or Midis or Tracks and work with them as I like.

    6. - Every change i need to be saved on my project, I simply use the Command SAVE from the File Menu.

     

    If you dont need to Collect the Files from the Different folders you already have in your system, then , do not use the Collect all and Save option.

    2 years ago | 0 comments

You need to be logged in, have a Live license, and have a username set in your account to be able to answer questions.

Answers is a new product and we'd like to hear your wishes, problems or ideas.