deleting unused tracks

Hi,

When i have most of the arrangement layed out, there's always a point where I want to clean up my project, by deleting unused tracks. So i zoom out in arrangement, to see which tracks seem empty, then i switch to session view if there aren't any interesting clips in it, and then i look if the track isn't somehow used in some kind of routing. But i sometimes end up deleting tracks, that did contain some elements, like oneshots etc., stuff that's easy to overlook, without zooming in a lot.

So how do you guys to this? And i have the same question about deleting scenes, when you combine two projects i sometimes have over 200 scenes, then i have to scroll from top to bottom. So cleaning up seems to take both a lot of time and is easy to screw up, when working one big projects.

Thanks a lot for your input.

3 followers

Bikkel 1 year ago | 0 comments

2 answers

  • Near Earth Object
    contribution
    782 answers
    796 votes received
    1 vote

    Personally, I made sure my workflow minimises the risk of deleting the wrong tracks:

    Set up a project, work on it, and as soon as i have a track that contains useful parts, i give that track a corresponding name and colour.

    Same thing works for scenes.

    After I am satisfied with the project and want to clean up, i simply remove all the tracks that have no colour or no description.

    Still,you will have to do it yourself: no easy fix there, except for a more structured workflow, i guess.

    Another way to make sure you don't lose anything: save different versions of a track while working on it.

    f.i.: start a new project, give it a working title and save as version 1.1

    After every major change to the project (like rendering tracks, freeze/flatten, adding fx, etc) you save it as version 1.2, 1.3, etc.

    By doing this, you will always be able to go back to tracks/soun ds you deleted in the last version. Open the file folder in the browser, fold out the previous version of the project, and drag the whole track into the project.

    Hope this helps :)

     

     

    1 year ago | 0 comments
  • throwlaserbolts
    contribution
    1 answer
    1 vote received
    1 vote

    I agree with the versioning method. It's mostly a reference file if in the same project folder. So, do a "Save As," and title it with a ".01" ".02" etc... after the name of the session. Most of my projects get up to 10 or 15 of these versions. Saves time when I need to back track, and I can pull in deleted tracks from other versions in the file browser within Live. 

    11 months ago | 0 comments

You need to be logged in, have a Live license, and have a username set in your account to be able to answer questions.

Answers is a new product and we'd like to hear your wishes, problems or ideas.