Live is a serious DAW?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
timk

Live is a serious DAW?

Post by timk » Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:21 am

Hi All

I'm new to Live and currently use CubaseSX3 but as Steinberg are stalling on the Intel MacOSX upgrade was toying with moving to Ableton - who seem to be a much more flexible and supportive company.

I have a few questions though.

Is Live (and especially v6) going to be great at doing MIDI?

I score for tv & film using the Vienna Symphonic Library and I notice that most people here seem to be DJs - does anyone do something similar here? Is Live suitable for this (well v6 with video import anyway)

What's Ableton support like? For when deadlines loom and your DAW crashes?

TIA

Tim

Lo-Fi Massahkah

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:33 am

and I notice that most people here seem to be DJs
Not quite true, my friend. Some time back there was a poll, and as far as I remember. There were more people using Live to make original material than DJ. Anyway...

From what I remember (been years since I used Cubase) Cubase's midi functionality is way deeper the Live's. That said - there's nothing I really miss back from the Cubase days. And I run some hardware... It's hard for me to make a decision for you, though. So, try out the demo for a few weeks. Then the beta for Live 6 will most likely go public.

Good luck,
Mikael

exz0rb

Re: Live is a serious DAW?

Post by exz0rb » Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:53 am

timk wrote:Hi All

I'm new to Live and currently use CubaseSX3 but as Steinberg are stalling on the Intel MacOSX upgrade was toying with moving to Ableton - who seem to be a much more flexible and supportive company.

I have a few questions though.

Is Live (and especially v6) going to be great at doing MIDI?

I score for tv & film using the Vienna Symphonic Library and I notice that most people here seem to be DJs - does anyone do something similar here? Is Live suitable for this (well v6 with video import anyway)