Mac Optimizations--- Lets Make A Deal With Ableton/ Respect

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
::mic-minimal::

Mac Optimizations--- Lets Make A Deal With Ableton/ Respect

Post by ::mic-minimal:: » Mon Sep 01, 2003 10:34 pm

I've been researching alot of sites mac and general, this is what the consensus is but first let me say that I'm no expert on the subject or a techhead, what I am is very strong in the area of common sense and it seems that alot of gripes regarding optimizations might benefit from my observations.

After Ableton Optimizes Live for the Mac, the Mac will still not perform up to the level of the PCs. think about this for a minute. A 'pentium 3' pc will outperform the top of the line G4 Powerbook, Ableton knows this, most of them are powerbook users and I've even seen them comment about this on this forum, now think of them as having business responsibilities, and this next part is especialy important. Ableton knows by all of our post that
without a doubt after they optimize Live for the mac !!!! AND IT'S STILL NOT AS FAST AS THE PC !!!! that we're not going to show them any respect or grattitude, why? because if Live could only play 4/6/8 tracks on
a PC then nobody would be complaining. Well after optimisation the powerbooks will be able to do more but it won't come close to what the Pc is capable of with Live, maybe after mac optimization the top of the line powerbook will be able to do what a P3 pc laptop can do, but it won't come
close to the top of the line pc laptops. why am I saying all of this.... because I want us (all Live users) to see what it is exactly that we are asking ableton for.
Now after optimization for the mac, the Pc crowd will demand optimization just on the basis of principle, even though their laptops will already be faster than an optimized Mac.