synths and...

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
clipperer

synths and...

Post by clipperer » Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:48 am

.... hey geeks.

i want to build synths and effects and control em and........ things like that

i was lookin' into max/msp , reaktor , virsyn tera
but everytime i start diging deeper i get frustrated extremely fast.
they all seem so tricky..at the moment..
i dont know so much it seems.
so thats why i write here , i wanna ask if i should know scripting etc to program synths ?
what else should know?

any help would be great

glitchrock-buddha

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:07 am

without even being a synth builder myself, i can vouch for reaktor. i initially got interested because of the synth building potential but soon realized i'd rather not get that deep into it, and just write the music. however, the huge array of instrument and effects that come with reaktor 5 is absolutely amazing and there are endless synth possibilities without even building anything, especially when you take the user library into account. it's staggering! so i'd say it's quite worth it, and from there you could slowly learn to piece together your own ensembles by learning from others, and using bigger building blocks at first. it's definitely quite complex, but how deep you go is up to you.
The other thing is, as far as designing your own sounds, if you find full blown modular synth design a little too intimidating (as i do), you could always look into the semi-modular stuff like absynth.

all the best,

grb
Professional Shark Jumper.

atomic

Post by atomic » Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:07 am

you may want to look into Tassman it is slightly more friendly and still alows you to "build" things. As for reaktor DAM it is big and scary, I just bought it a few weeksk ago and am totaly overwhelmed.

peace
ABIT NF7+AMDXP@2500, RME Multiface, TC Powercore Element+Virus, UAD-1, Nord Lead2, Reason2.5, impOSCar, Microtonic, Reaktor5 and some other stuff...