I need studio monitors, yo

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
derkface

I need studio monitors, yo

Post by derkface » Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:00 am

the speakers i'm using in my "studio" are a joke. i'm not even going to tell you because you will laugh at me. so i need some good flat bitches to play my sounds. instead of researching myself i'll let you all tell me which speakers i should spend my student loan on. the operative word here is value. i'll type it again: value. i'm an impoverished student (literally... impoverished), but they should still be fairly decent. so... what'll it be? also... sorry for the off topic question, be gentle with me.

AdamJay

Post by AdamJay » Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:08 am

whats your budget?

the KRK Rokit RP6's go for $400 a pair (with 6" woofers, powered - 100w per speaker)

or if yer on more of a budget, theres 1 step down with the RP5's (with 5" woofers, powered - 75w per speaker) $300 a pair.

they also make a matched 225w 10" powered subwoofer for $300. The RP-10s

i use tannoys with a Samson amp, but a few friends of mine are using the KRK's and if i had to buy monitors tomorrow - i'd get the RP6's, or RP5's if budget was only $300. I would stay away from the Samsons and Behringers. The price might be right but ya get what ya pay for big time. i found the samsons to be real sharp, and the behringers to have a hole in the mids.

Audiomidi.com sells them

majestic

Post by majestic » Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:54 am

Whenever monitors are mentioned, the most common advice is "don't listen to us, listen to your ears", and that's very true. It's very subjective stuff and only you can decide what faithfully reproduces glitchfolkpop. All I'd really suggest is that you go for active nearfields (no need to power 'em with a separate amplifier), and go for at least a 6" woofer.