About to become a Switcher ... a thinkpattern

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Mbazzy

About to become a Switcher ... a thinkpattern

Post by Mbazzy » Fri Jun 18, 2004 8:43 am

First of all let me say i've been using [and building my ] PC's for the last 15 years and using OS as diverse as Windows, OpenBSD, Linux , ... so I like to think I know something about computers in general ...

In fact I only came back to Windows because of the available music software.... otherwise I'd gladly use OpenBSD on ALL of my machines.
[ Btw if anyone knows of the possibility to run PD on openBSD I'm very interested to know ]

Untill now my Athlon 1Ghz desktop under win 2000 serves me excellent for what I want to do musicwise and considering I even have only 256 MB Ram I even have performance increase potential .

However I need to become more mobile , so a laptop acquisition imposes itself. Mainly for playing out live , for studiowork I still can rely on my current workstation.

My first reaction was to go with what I know , being Intel/AMD based hardware and the subsequent OS. So I was about to shed out 1800 Euro for a quite topend Toshiba .

But when thinking things through and admitting that in fact I hardly max out my current setup [hardly 55% ], I started to question my decision.

So I started looking at the secondhand market of reliable brandnames for audio [Toshiba/IBM/Sony] of 1-1.5Ghz machines, to conclude that the prices over (t)here weren't much different from an Ibook G4 1ghz 12' ... but NEW ...

with the added benefit of more than good onboard audio [in comparison with the PC laptopfield - from what I've read several pro performers even use the onboard audio of Ibook live for playing out - QUESTION : What latency do you get out of the Ibook onboard audio ? ] , a Unix based OS [which I like] , low weight [2.2 kg, if I'm not mistaking], ... and for the 7200 rpm FW drive , you have to buy it in either way ...