my first live performance with live tonight

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
even

my first live performance with live tonight

Post by even » Tue May 08, 2007 5:11 am

there's this underground theater festival and my brother's rock band has been called to jam and improvise to sustain the visuals and a little play and i was told to support the band with fx, glitches, sounds, beats, and the works. all good so far.

i need some pointers from you though, as i've never done this before. i am only used to working with myself. is there something i need to know to begin with? tips? things you have learned from your own similar experiences?

anything you might have to say on this matter is appreciated

and a question. how do i preview samples in my headphones, considering i've set my master out and cue out separately and cueing (when switched from solo to cue) works just fine.

thank you, you kind folk

Tone Deft

Post by Tone Deft » Tue May 08, 2007 6:45 am

Congrats.

From a novice...
Keep your head up, make eye contact with the rest of the band and the crowd when you can. Practice your set, abuse it so it doesn't crash on you. If you're more comfortable previewing, then do so, it'd probably be easier for you to know your clips ahead of time, whatever works for you. Keep your master fader in hand so you can fade out if you 'screw up' but people probably won't notice. If you do screw up pretend it's the best thing ever. Feel your place in the mix and groove with it.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

even

Post by even » Tue May 08, 2007 7:11 am