Virtual vs. Actual. Your thoughts please.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.

What do you prefer?

I prefer Virtual Instruments
56%
I prefer Actual Instruments
44%

Total votes: 27

jonathono2000

Virtual vs. Actual. Your thoughts please.

Post by jonathono2000 » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:58 pm

I am an amateur musician. that is I have never done anything more than write music in my bedroom. I have never really even seen a "real" studio (a few pics here and there) What I am wondering is that currently (September 25. 2006) what is the ratio of "actaul' instruments to "virtual" instruments you guys use? I like plug-ins because they are relatively cheap, flexible, etc... but I get the feeling that most pros use mostly hardware.

I am wondering what exactly your thoughts are on this, from both the pro and amateur perspective.

I know a lot of it depends on what sound you are after, your ability to make due with what you got, etc... so don't tell me anything like that; I already know.

You already know I'm an amateur, and I would say that my use of instruments is 90% virtual and 10% actual, I use a K-Station for ideation and as controller and it ends up in the final mix sometimes. Other than that I use plug-ins for everthing else, and what about drum machines—I mean, Impulse is so great why would i even think about investing in something like a Machinedrum.

Someone please school me.

Johnisfaster

Post by Johnisfaster » Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:02 pm

what if you don't prefer either but accept both for what they are?
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

Johnisfaster

Re: Virtual vs. Actual. Your thoughts please.

Post by Johnisfaster » Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:07 pm

jonathono2000 wrote:Impulse is so great why would i even think about investing in something like a Machinedrum.