emerging from garageband

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
Ronobir

emerging from garageband

Post by Ronobir » Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:45 am

I've been using garageband for about a year, and paid for a couple of Jam Packs. I'm brand new to ableton, and want to leave garagband entirely behind, but don't want to lose some great instruments for the sampler. Does anyone know how to use them in Live? (sorry for the sounding naive)

hambone1

Post by hambone1 » Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:12 pm

Welcome!

I don't know about the GarageBand instruments, but I use their loops.

They work great in Live.

Jaberwookie

Post by Jaberwookie » Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:19 pm

The main problem with Live (IMHO) is that it doesn't come with a decent sampler - simpler and impulse just don't cut it if your serious about your sampler instruments.

I'd recommend you get Kontakt or Mach5 and rebuild your garageband sampler instruments in the new sampler (unless you can export them in Kontakt or MOTU format...?) from scratch.

OR If you can run garageband as a Rewire slave (I think you can), just run it within Live - but then I guess you're still having to use garageband...
MacPro Quad Xeon 2.66, 4GB, Fireface 400, Event ASP8, UAD-1e, Live 7, Kore 2, Reaktor 5
Kontakt 3, Battery 3, Plogue Bidule, Sylenth1, Blue, SoundToys Native FX and some other bits and bobs

moostapha

Post by moostapha » Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:42 pm

if you're not using it for live performance, why not go to Logic instead? For production, I really think it's just better.
If only you, me and DEAD people could read hex, would we need this forum?

rbro

Post by rbro » Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:24 pm

moostapha wrote:if you're not using it for live performance, why not go to Logic instead? For production, I really think it's just better.
Live is a whole different beast even for production methinks. Definitely for composing, it's unlike anything else.

Teedub

Post by Teedub » Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:50 pm