most efficient studio

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ayentee

most efficient studio

Post by ayentee » Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:14 pm

I am a hiphop producer in search of the perfect set up (for me)as cheap as i can do it. I need to be able to record samples from vinyl and cd and record vocals. I think i've figured out the most efficient set up and wanted to get some feedback.

stanton turntable digital out into novation x-station 25 digital in. record sampels into soundforge. open samples in live. record vocals in live via novation x-station pre amp. mix in live. master in soundforge.

this set up lets me bypass getting a sound card. can anyone tell me if there are any flaws in this set up that i am overlooking?

would i be better off getting an mbox2 and a cheap controller instead?

rbmonosylabik

Post by rbmonosylabik » Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:22 pm

Sounds perfect

andrewlogan

Post by andrewlogan » Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:28 am

you might consider a dedicated i/o card/box and an external controller. The M-Audio O2 is pretty good, I have one. you might consider the Numark TTX, it's rock solid so it eliminates any hum, and it has digital out.

DeadlyKungFu

Post by DeadlyKungFu » Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:01 am

Occasionally people post about the difficulties of recording vinyl, the way it can drift (quartz lock or not), variable drag on the platter as the needle moves across the platter, a single skip, all these things make sampling long sections of vinyl difficult. You may not have this problem, just a heads up.

ayentee

Post by ayentee » Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:10 am

the stanton turntable i have now already has an A/D converter inside of it. So it has a digital output and an rca output. Ive been running it into my mpc's digital in for a while now. I cant really tell if Im better off using the stantons A/D or if I should run the RCA's into a soundcard and let the soundcard convert.

ayentee

Post by ayentee » Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:12 am