How many simultaneous tracks can I record?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ra

How many simultaneous tracks can I record?

Post by ra » Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:05 pm

Hi all, I am new to Live 5, it will be here at the end of the week (with an Onyx 400F), and I have been checking this forum and am amazed at the helpfulness of the users.

I am certain the tutorials will give me an answer, but my imagination is running and I want to know ahead of time what is possible so as not to be disappointed.

So, will it be possible to record two or more tracks of audio along with midi evnts (through firewire) and also use the usb port for other midi events, all at the same time?

Also, can anyone rcommend a good midi tutorial on the web? Digital audio is not new to me, midi is. I am looking forward to exploring live's capabilities, this product really looks to be the best (for spontanaeity!). Cheers,

Michael
START NOW

err_fatale

Post by err_fatale » Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:16 pm

depends on your processor speed (CPU), Front Side Bus (FSB) speed, hard drive speed and cache, and the speed and amount of RAM.......all of it....

basically the more powerful your computer, the more it can handle

what are your machine's specs????

ra

Post by ra » Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:27 pm

I've got a powerbook Mac G4, 1,33GHz, 768MB ram, 60GB hard drive. Probably a little wimpy?
START NOW

Meef Chaloin

Post by Meef Chaloin » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:42 pm

i havent tried it but i can't see why you wouldnt be able to do what you are asking. live 5 is a bit power though, bare that in mind. I think you should be able to do what you are saying on your spec though, and probably a whole lot more (ive never tried live on a mac though, i have to say).

Give the demo a good thrashing, i think you should be able to do all you want to with that, test it out.

stinky

Post by stinky » Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:13 am