Noob assistance - Audio interfaces

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Alba

Noob assistance - Audio interfaces

Post by Alba » Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:24 pm

Hi folks. Before you ask, yes i have indeed searched the forum already but havent quite found an answer for my situation yet.

So i'm just a beginner just starting out with a minimal bedroom studio - Live 8, an Axiom Pro 61 midi keyboard and a pair of Shure SRH840 headphones (parents are in the adjacent room so monitors are not a possibility at this stage)

Anyway to round out my 'beginner' setup i know i'll need a soundcard that betters the internal one on my laptop, and also a headphone amp of some sort to get the most out of the Shures.

My question is: considering the midi keyboard is my only input, do i need to look at an audio interface with a certain number of inputs? ie something in the way of a Saffire 6 USB? The reason being the only people i hear buying them have external instruments to record with it, whereas in my case im just using the midi keyboard and doing everything else internally in Live (operator etc) so im confused as to how many inputs i require if any.

Would i be better off looking at something like the NI Audio 2 DJ ( http://www.native-instruments.com/#/en/ ... udio-2-dj/ which seems to be a soundcard with a headphone amp as well i believe? or is there something else which usually gets recommended for setups like mine?

Can't wait to crank my new gear in Live so any support/guidance would be much appreciated!

Thanks

XPM

Re: Noob assistance - Audio interfaces

Post by XPM » Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:44 pm

Something like the audio 2 dj would be perfect for your needs. Provided that you have a headphone output on the interface you buy, you shouldn't need a headphone amp. Consider if you are likely to invest in some external gear in the future, but if that is unlikely, stick with the audio 2, or look at the smaller of the m-audio range, which may be a little cheaper.

Khazul