Changing the APC40 mappings for built-in devices

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
glenc

Changing the APC40 mappings for built-in devices

Post by glenc » Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:11 pm

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the APC40, and apologies if this has been answered before. but:

Is it possible to change the default pot mappings for Live's built-in devices? Some of the mappings that it uses by default are very broken and unusable, and it would be great to be able to reconfigure what your default mappings are for the pots (in the same way as you set up default mappings for a device in Novation Automap).

Is there any way to achieve this? I have read elsewhere that you can kind of hack around this by wrapping every device in a rack and then binding the rack macro-controls how you want them, but that is a bit of an ugly solution. What I really want to do is just change the knob assignments for the raw devices themselves.

Any help is much appreciated.
Mushroom Jazz-style soul-hop and jazz jams: http://www.shelltoesmusic.com

Alextronica

Re: Changing the APC40 mappings for built-in devices

Post by Alextronica » Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:40 am

Dont think you'll have much luck on that front. without Bomes then again I dont think Bomes will help either but I dont know for sure. Might be a job for M4L but again not sure.

There is the racks thing. Yes you only get 8 knobs OR there are 8 banks of knobs in the device control

You can remap those. The only thing is they stay remapped no matter the device you have highlighted.

For example if you press shift bank 8 (metronome button) you will be in Bank 8, enter Midi map mode and assign a knob to say a EQ. Now no matter if you are controlling a beat repeat on a different track that knob you reassigned in bank 8 still controls the EQ of the previous track.

I know your not gonna like that either but thats just the APC.