Someone here give online private lessons in Max/msp?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
disco judas

Someone here give online private lessons in Max/msp?

Post by disco judas » Fri May 15, 2009 3:18 pm

Hi,

Some Max experts here who can teach how to build (cool,innovative,advanced)devices in Max ?

SimonPHC

Re: Someone here give online private lessons in Max/msp?

Post by SimonPHC » Fri May 15, 2009 3:22 pm

I'm no expert, but might be able to help if you present me with a question.
What is it you are looking for?
Did you do all the included tutorials?
What are you aiming for? In other words, what's cool, innovative or advanced in your opinion?

Android Bishop

Post by Android Bishop » Fri May 15, 2009 3:24 pm

MAX is useless without an idea of what you actually want to build.

SimonPHC

Post by SimonPHC » Fri May 15, 2009 6:38 pm

thanks for your PM, hope you don't mind referring to it in public.

I have no idea of what your level of skill is in regular programming, but if we look behind the visual interface, that's what it basically is, programming. MAX makes it a 'little' bit easier as you connect building blocks instead of lines of code. This makes it both easier to learn and harder to optimize for CPU efficiency.

What you where asking in you PM, FM synthesis, Karlplus-Strong synthesis, Waveshaping synthesis, Reverb etc are not only very hard, but there are very effective and more CPU efficient options out there already. What is so wrong with Operator of FM8 that you need yet another synth? Do you think it will be better when you compare it to a product that has been coded by really good programmers who get paid to the job, while you would do it in you spare time?