Question: how is EIC2?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
KZ9

Question: how is EIC2?

Post by KZ9 » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:05 am

Me being a poor bastard, it seems that getting the regular boxed version of Live is the cheapest way to get both a sequencer and some orchestra samples. My question: how good does EIC2 sound?

Even if it sounds just "okay" in comparison to the top names, that is fine with me: I'm a total noob at this and probably will remain so for quite some time.

If it doesn't sound good, do you have any recommendations for a cheap orchestra sample collections/sequencers that won't break the bank (under 400$ ideally).

Secondly, how heavy are the system requirements? Would the following set-up be okay for minimal orchestral arrangements? I'm in the process of upgrading, so this isn't final:

Amd Athlon 64 X2 4200 Dual Core
2 Gb RAM (3 gb?)
"Creative Sound Blaster X-fi Xtreme Music"-ish sound card

Thank you, good sirs.

william.jack38

Re: Question: how is EIC2?

Post by william.jack38 » Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:30 am

You have all requirements, but my friend I can't find my EIC instruments after the Live 8 upgrade. (same setup as yours)

KZ9

Post by KZ9 » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:38 pm

william.jack38 wrote:You have all requirements, but my friend I can't find my EIC instruments after the Live 8 upgrade. (same setup as yours)
I've heard that's been happening to a lot of people: supposedly they're just mixed in with the regular instrument rack. Does anyone have experience with EIC2 from previous versions of Live?

moosethree

Post by moosethree » Thu Apr 09, 2009 2:27 am

I got Miroslav Philharmonic on sale at guitar center $99,

CWoodOne

Post by CWoodOne » Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:46 pm

KZ9 wrote:
william.jack38 wrote:You have all requirements, but my friend I can't find my EIC instruments after the Live 8 upgrade. (same setup as yours)