live 7 sample rate conversion poor? - comparison chart

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
muchachotron

live 7 sample rate conversion poor? - comparison chart

Post by muchachotron » Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:24 pm

has anyone taken a look at this chart? compare the sweep graph between live 7 and, say, logic 8 on 10.5. logic looks clean and crisp. live 7 has grid lines all over the place. it actually looks like one of the worst ones in the comparison.

http://src.infinitewave.ca/

i am not a sound engineer so i do not fully grasp these charts. i would like some other opinions and views on this info. also, i am not bashing ableton live at all -- i am absolutely smitten with the software. i would just like to know what people think of these charts.

leedsquietman

Post by leedsquietman » Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:58 am

Never use DAWs for sample rate conversion is always one of the rules I stick to. I use Voxengo's R8Brain Pro, which is also recommended by mastering guru Bob Katz (among others) in his Mastering Audio : The Art and The Science (2nd edition).

Look at ALL of the tests. You will realize that those graphs are quite misleading in that even with the tiniest, in the vast majority of cases, inaudible errors, they look horrible on that 'sweep' grid. Look at the other tests with bar graphs and you'll see they are a much better representation and look a lot less shocking. The eye candy extremism is there to draw more traffic in and yet more people with more time on their hands than they know how to handle can draw it into a year long debate at KVR or whatever and keep the hits ticking over.

How much Sample rate converting are you planning on actually doing. If you are doing lots get a good tool designed as a sample rate converter, not a jack of all trades DAW or audio editor. I very rarely do any, as I find that recording at 24/44.1 is fine for my needs.