The error message "There was an error when closing the file [...]" always appears when saving a Live Set

  • Live Versions: Live 9
  • Operating System: WIN


I have stored my Live Projects directly in my Dropbox folder. Whenever I save a Live Set that I have changed, I get an error message that this file couldn't be closed.



The instant Dropbox syncing prevents the correct saving (overwriting) of the Live Set (.als file).


Pausing the Dropbox syncing allows Live Sets to be overwritten in the Dropbox folder. Later, the syncing can be resumed and the changed files get properly uploaded.

Additional Information

This error appears on Windows computers only when saving (overwriting) an already existing Live Set (.als file). If you don't want to pause syncing but need instant uploading, e.g. when backing up critical projects, just use "Save As..." from the File menu and save your changes with a new file name, instead of overwriting the existing document.