Contact support or Ask other Live users

How to reset Live?

  • Live Versions: ALL
  • Operating System: ALL

1. Close Live.

2. Delete the files "Preferences.cfg", "Template.als" and "Undo.cfg" (if available) from

Windows XP

\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8

\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live x.x.x\Preferences\

Mac OS X

/Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/Ableton/Live x.x.x/

3. Delete the same files for the latest and all older Live versions, in case there are folders of different Live versions.

4. Restart Live.

This will reset Live completely. Your template set will be erased (if you have one), audio and MIDI hardware needs to be setup again in Live's preferences. Also plug-in support needs to be enabled and your further custom preferences need to be applied again.

Please refer to the following knowledge base article for further information: how to access hidden folders on Windows and Mac OS X.