when update live does it install the full package again in a seperate folder?

when update live does it install the full package again in a seperate folder? 

i'm sure this is taking up alot of space on my harddrive

Just uninstalled all previous versions and now lost my library with all my presets! :(

13 followers

beeds 5 years ago | 0 comments

6 answers

  • Ableton_David Ableton staff
    contribution
    97 answers
    139 votes received
    7 votes

    When you download a new update to Live (keeping the same numerical version, i.e. Live 8.2.1 to Live 8.2.2), any new content will be added to your library. You can delete the old version of Live, but you'll want to leave the Library alone. Do you have any backup on your hard disk that you can search for the Library?

    In the mean time, if you're looking for missing content from the Library, go to Preferences->Library in Live, and select "Repair Library". This may take some time, but it will synchronize all factory content.

    5 years ago | 2 comments
  • person1
    contribution
    1 answer
    7 votes received
    7 votes

    Ok so this kind of stuff is my number one biggest complaint about your customer service interface, I love the program but this kind of info should not be an afterthought on a help page it should be right next to the download!!

    5 years ago | 0 comments
  • robnes82
    contribution
    1 answer
    5 votes received
    5 votes

    why can't it just be seamless like an update to itunes or something, where you don't have to have the fear of deleting stuff you might want!

    4 years ago | 1 comment
  • Amitsegall
    contribution
    15 answers
    18 votes received
    1 vote

    Live's update is always Parallel to the old version.
    it dose not mean you have to reinstall the library each time, the first will do :) , that's way it's better saving them on different locations - software on one place, library on another.

    while downloading you can either choose to download with content or without. if you don't want to reinstall the library download and install "program only" which is the smaller sized one.
    after installing make sure that the new version works well and then you are free do delete the old version. don't delete the library thought ! :)
    hope that was clear and helpful. Cheers

     

    5 years ago | 0 comments
  • TheOnlyProphet
    contribution
    1 answer
    1 vote received
    1 vote

    There should be clear cut updating methods layed out. Especially when the software automatically brought me here to download the update. Also updating your software shouldn't be a freakin huge ordeal, and this is for some reason. I had to log in as administrator, can't find my libraries. Going to have to do a complete uninstall / reinstall to fix this. There goes an ENTIRE day of work. Thanks a lot Ableton. So much for your glorified workflow. If I was using Reason, I'd already be working by now; Not putting some BS comment on Ableton Help.

    4 years ago | 0 comments
  • Apue
    contribution
    1 answer
    0 votes received
    0 votes

    I'm not still fully sure if I can retain all my working and the library that I installed before upgrading to new one.

    Now v8.2.5 was released and if I download the program only package, should I just install it? If I did so, will I retain my all work and sound?

    Also if I downloaded the full version with sound v8.2.5, is there any new sound or incompatibility thingy from v8.2.2 to v8.2.5 ?

    Thanks in advance.

    5 years ago | 3 comments

You need to be logged in, have a Live license, and have a username set in your account to be able to answer questions.

Answers is a new product and we'd like to hear your wishes, problems or ideas.