i accidentally just saved (after unknowingly deleting half my session)

how do i recover my previous save?

3 followers

maxulis 5 years ago | 0 comments

2 answers

  • adi12
    contribution
    1 answer
    1 vote received
    1 vote

    I just did the same thing, saved and didnt realise that instead of copying a midi track to another channel, it just transfered it without leaving a copy, and then i already deleted the midi track when transfering it into audio, but didnt realise that my original midi was lost.

    now it's gone and without retrieve.

    if it's audio then you can probably find it in your folders. but midi is lost for good.

    4 years ago | 0 comments
  • Near Earth Object
    contribution
    778 answers
    794 votes received
    0 votes

    Did you try searching in the samples-folder of your project? You are probably not able to recover the original set, but it is possible that Live saved all tracks of the project at an earlier stage. If so, these files will be in the samples-folder; load them into your project and put them in the right spot.

    I think there are also some applications out there to recover files that were lost, but I'm not sure if that will work for Ableton. 

    Last but not least; too late for you now, but try to save a (temporary) version of your project/track every time you make a change that makes it significantly different from the last version you opened. Personally I save every time I change the track-layout, when I freeze/flatten any track from midi to audio or audio+FX to audio, when I change the timing/groove of any track, etc.   Save it as Track 1, track 1.2, track 1.3 or something similar, so you always know what the latest version is!

    Good luck!

     

    5 years ago | 0 comments

You need to be logged in, have a Live license, and have a username set in your account to be able to answer questions.

Answers is a new product and we'd like to hear your wishes, problems or ideas.