Scoring film

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
remute

Scoring film

Post by remute » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:05 pm

Hey, I'm siginging up for a course in writing music for film/game etc and I've been told that Live isn't the way to go - I've used it, via the arrange window, as a traditional songwriting DAW, never delved into warp markers and all that which is how, apparently, you get it to work with film - as you can tell I'm a complete noob!

Is the advice correct, should I be looking elsewhere or do I just need some good tutorials to get me startd with Live?
Any help appreciated!

ubermnd

Post by ubermnd » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:13 pm

I've used Live to create soundtracks before with no real problems. Its useful to easily stretch or shrink sections to fit the video cut but just be careful about the loss of audio quality. Over warped audio sounds a bit pants imho.

I usually throw things together in Live and then do the proper sequence in Logic or Pro Tools because they are more suited for that kind of working.

landrvr1

Post by landrvr1 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:21 pm

I do some short film scoring for work using Ableton. Works great. You don't need to use warping in order to work with video; that's only if you want your video to control your audio tempo (or visa versa I suppose).

Live has some nifty video features, but it's really more or less an afterthought. I can't imaging anyone who's remotely serious about film actually editing and rendering their footage out of Live. Having said that, the vid features are good enough for the casual user to have a bit of fun without having to buy an Adobe product.

I'd get a hold of the Live 7 manual and read Chapter 19; it explains pretty well how the video works.

landrvr1

Post by landrvr1 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:24 pm

ubermnd wrote:Its useful to easily stretch or shrink sections to fit the video cut but just be careful about the loss of audio quality. Over warped audio sounds a bit pants imho.

+1