Freakin Latency

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
firewire

Freakin Latency

Post by firewire » Mon May 28, 2007 10:33 pm

my latency gets progressively worse as i load up a song. at the beginning everything is fine and i can play along with the metronome. As things progress and i add more layers to the track the latency gets worse and worse. Having Delay compensation on not does not help. i tried to use the tutorial for setting delay compensation (which got up to 13ms) but it doesn't seem to make any difference.
Its like the audio delay gets greater, all switching on the DC does is align the metronome with the audio, which does not seem to help with recording the midi.
I am a newbie so i'm hoping this is easily solved ?
ASUS A8N-E, NVIDIA NForce4, AMD X2 4400+ Toledo Core, 3GB RAM, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, SATA x 2, Mackie HR824, MicroKorg, Cubase SX3 Ableton 6.

firewire

Post by firewire » Tue May 29, 2007 12:47 am

i have moved the sound card now onto a different bus. This seems to have cured the delay for the Plugin delay compensation lesson. its now down to 0.2ms.

Here's the scenario. I have a track playing, 7 tracks of audio, 4 of midi.

switch on the metronome.
without delay compensation i can hear the audio is out of time with the metronome.
to test the keyboard latency i turn down the master volume to 0 and tap my midi keyboard in time with the metronome. the notes are in time with the metronome and recording right on the whole notes.

turn up the volume and i can hear the audio lagging behind the metronome.
I switch on the delay compensation. Now the metronome is in time with the music.
I try to record the midi on the beat as before but now the recorded notes are between a 32th and 16th behind the whole note.

Could it be the soundcard ?

also, i am using the latest ASIO drivers for the soundcard, buffer is 265 with no clicks or pops, 44100 sample rate