Latency issues with Rewire

UHE is now closed. For Technical Support from Ableton, please go here: http://www.ableton.com/support
Synthbuilder

Latency issues with Rewire

Post by Synthbuilder » Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:34 am

I'm relatively new to Live 5.02 and I am very impressed with the program thus far. However, can anyone confirm one item of behaviour that puzzles me.

I am running Live as a rewire master with Reason as slave. I am doing all my sequencing in Live and taking the outputs of the Reason rack back into Live. Those input channels dedicated to Reason in Live are all set to 'monitor IN' permanently in Live.

It appears that there is always around 13mS [my overall latency] of delay with the Reason output in comparison to any audio or VST tracks in Live. It appears that PDC does not function for Rewired inputs, or perhaps any input channel set to 'monitor IN'.

The workaround appears to be delay all of Live's VST and audio tracks by 13mS with the track delay setting on each channel.

Alternatively, I can also set any midi track that drives Reason to a predelay of -13mS. However, any predelay value more negative than -13mS do not appear to add any more delay.

Is this right that rewired channels aren't compensated for?

Also, can anyone let me know the action of the master track's delay setting. This appears to allow for negative values of predelay, but positive values of delay do not seem to have any affect at all.

Many thanks for any help you can give me.

noou

Post by noou » Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:12 pm