Ableton DJ..?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
2kilo

Ableton DJ..?

Post by 2kilo » Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:43 pm

Hi, I'm new to Ableton Live [version 4] and am amazed at what a stunning product this is. The potential is so vast...

But for DJ's [and maybe other performance types] it still seems to lack a key feature [or I have not found them yet]. Please, please, correct me if I'm wrong, I want to be wrong..?

Basically the ability to instant loop, change loop lengths and positions in realtime. I know you can do this buy splitting a song into clips but this can limit improvisation? Also by changing loop length and position in realtime you can actually play a loop [eg a melody lasts two bars, set the loop to 2 beats and move it backwards and forwards to change the order of the melody, or loop a stab at the start of a bar to a one beat loop, let it loop 3 times then change the loop to the full bar]. Traktor is a good example of this beat juggle effect. Instant cue points and the ability to jump between them would also great..?

With overproduced music DJ's really need these loop/cue functions as a lot of songs do not have long enough breaks to do an interesting mix..?

Imagine a digital DJ with a hard drive full of tracks, having to add to this with extra clips, sound files, etc limits the amount of tunes..? I would like just one song file with all the relevant loop/cue info stored in a one file..?

I love Live, my main reason for buying it is to quantise sloppy drumming in old rare-groove records, so they can be mixed like house. I would prefer to DJ with Live but I have to say that Traktor [so far] allows me more freedom and possibilities in the mix.

I can see that getting MIDI into version 4 is pretty key [its great, I could get rid of Cubase now] but I hope version 4.5 concentrates on more performance options as it is meant to be a "Live Instrument"..?

If Live had a session, arrangement, and a third traktor view..?